Newcomer Health

Refugee, immigrant and migrant communities face multiple
systems barriers that negatively affect health

This ECHO series is designed to increase medical providers' knowledge of the resettlement and health issues of newcomers, including refugee, immigrant and migrant (RIM) populations. It will review resettlement pathways, evidence-based screening recommendations, and more common diagnoses and treatment approaches for pediatric and adult populations.

Sessions include brief didactic presentations by immigrant health experts and discussion of participant-submitted cases. Participants are highly encouraged to submit de-identified patient cases for group discussion and expert consultation.

Registration is ongoing and participants can attend any sessions they wish.

Newcomer Health

Audience:
Medical providers across the U.S. who provide care or who want to learn more about providing care for newcomers, including refugees, immigrants and migrants

Schedule:
Ongoing monthly ECHO sessions held virtually
Last Tuesday of the month
6:00 AM PT | 7:00 AM MT | 8:00 AM CT | 9:00 AM ET

First session October 25:
Introduction to Refugee Resettlement

SIGN UP FOR THIS SERIES

CME:
CME for this series has been applied for and is pending approval. ECHO participants typically earn one credit per session attended. In order to receive CME credit for this ECHO series, post-session surveys must be completed by the indicated deadline.

In partnership with:

The Center of Excellence in Newcomer Health builds on existing infrastructure and its partners’ extensive experience to identify and monitor newcomer health issues and needs, contribute to evidence-based policies and guidance, and ultimately improve continuity of care and health outcomes for newcomers.

  • ECHO SESSION 1

    Introduction to Refugee Resettlement

    October 25, 2022

  • ECHO SESSION 2

    Afghan Health Considerations

    November 29, 2022

  • ECHO SESSION 3

    Ukrainian Health Considerations

    January 31, 2023

  • ECHO SESSION 4

    Vaccinations

    February 28, 2023

  • ECHO SESSION 5

    Tuberculosis

    March 28, 2023

  • ECHO SESSION 6

    Hepatitis B – Pediatrics

    April 25, 2023

  • ECHO SESSION 7

    Hepatitis B – Adults

    May 30, 2023

  • ECHO SESSION 8

    GI Infections – Soil Transmitted Helminth Infections

    June 27, 2023

  • ECHO SESSION 9

    Lead and Anemia

    July 25, 2023

  • ECHO SESSION 10

    Mental Health

    August 29, 2023

  • ECHO SESSION 11

    Sexual and Reproductive Health

    September 26, 2023

  • ECHO SESSION 12

    Pediatric Nutrition

    October 31, 2023

  • ECHO SESSION 13

    Female Genital Cutting

    November 28, 2023